Counties Focus

Counties in Eastern Kenya

Counties in Eastern Kenya

Kenya is divided into 47 counties, which are grouped into eight provinces: Nairobi, Eastern, Central, Western, Nyanza, North Eastern, Coastal and Rift valley. 

Each county has its own government, headed by the governor, whose role it is to lead and oversee county government operations, activities and services. 

Despite each county being an administrative unit of the country’s national government, each Kenya county has its own unique local cultural identity, history and economic challenges it must overcome as it strives to improve its citizens’ quality of life

Counties in Eastern Kenya

Makueni County

Marsabit County

Meru County

Kitui County

Machakos County

Tharaka-Nithi County

Embu County

Isiolo County

Counties in Northern Kenya

Garissa county

Mandera county

Wajir County

Counties in Western Kenya

Busia County

Bungoma County

Kakamega County

Vihiga County

Counties in Nyanza Kenya

Kisii County

Kisumu County

Siaya County

Nyamira County

Homabay County

Migori County

Counties in Coastal Kenya

Kwale County

Mombasa County

Kilifi County

Tana River County

Taita Taveta County

Lamu County

Counties in Central Kenya

Kiambu County

Nyeri County

Kirinyaga County

Muranga County

Nyanadarua County

Counties in Rift valley Kenya

Bomet County

West Pokot County

Uasin Gishu County

Turkana County

Nakuru County

Samburu County

Narok County

Laikipia County

Kajiado County

Trans-Nzoia County

Baringo County

Elgeyo Marakwet County

Nandi County

Kericho County

Population Per Province in Kenya (2019)

Nairobi Region             4,397,073

Eastern Region             5,021,843

Central Region              5,482,239

Rift valley Region         12,759,966

North Eastern Region   2,490,073

Coastal Region              3,369,889

Nyanza Region              6,269,579

Western Region             5,021,843

Also Read Most populated Towns in Kenya